# Hammock Rain Flys and Underquilts (2026): Tarp Sizes, Tie-Outs and Temperature Claims Without a Standard

> Hammock tarps compared on size, coating, seam tape and tie-outs, and underquilts on the temperature each maker claims, since no ISO test covers underquilts.

- Source: https://wildprooflab.com/camp-shelter/hammock-rain-flys-and-underquilts
- Publisher: WildProofLab (https://wildprooflab.com)
- Published: 2026-09-29
- Category: camp-shelter
- Tags: hammock tarp, hammock rain fly, underquilt, hammock camping, silnylon, tie-outs
- Method: picks chosen from Amazon listings and brand specs; not hands-on tested; current Amazon prices are on the page; content checked 2026-09-29.
- Quick answer: For the fly, buy onewind's 12 x 10 ft silnylon tarp: it has doors, 11 tie-outs plus 4 pull-outs and a 4,000 mm coating, per the listing. For the underquilt, onewind's full-length quilt claims 35°F to 50°F, but none of these underquilts cites an ISO or other test standard, so add margin.

## Key takeaways

- ISO 23537 rates sleeping bags, not underquilts. Every underquilt temperature here is the maker's own claim with no test named.
- Hydrostatic head on these tarps runs from 1,000 mm (ENO ProFly) to 4,000 mm (onewind), but no listing names the test method, so treat the gap as rough.
- Count tie-outs, not just feet: doors and side pull-outs are what let a tarp close up in wind-driven rain.

## Products (chosen from listings, not tested)

1. **onewind 12 x 10 ft Ultralight Camping Hammock Tarp with Doors** (details: https://wildprooflab.com/camp-shelter/hammock-rain-flys-and-underquilts#product-B087BL2S4Y) — Buy it if you hang in real rain or cold wind and want to close the ends.
   - Pros: 20D ripstop silnylon, silicone/PU coated to 4,000 mm, per the listing; 11 tie-outs and 4 pull-outs; overlapping doors close the ends; 1.8 lb tarp; stakes, reflective guylines, adjusters and carabiners included
   - Cons: The listing does not say whether the seams are taped
2. **Wise Owl Outfitters Hammock Rain Fly, 11 x 9 ft** (details: https://wildprooflab.com/camp-shelter/hammock-rain-flys-and-underquilts#product-B07ZPH8Q1D) — Buy it for three-season hangs where a plain rectangle is enough.
   - Pros: Ripstop nylon, PU coated to 3,000 mm, with taped seams, per the listing; 18.9 oz for this color, per the listing; six 10 ft guylines and aluminum stakes included
   - Cons: No doors, and the tie-out count is not stated; The listing calls it silnylon in one line and PU-coated nylon in another
3. **Pro Venture Waterproof Hammock Rain Fly, 12 x 9 ft Hex** (details: https://wildprooflab.com/camp-shelter/hammock-rain-flys-and-underquilts#product-B0752XXW1L) — Buy it if you want a long hex cut with less fabric at the corners than a rectangle.
   - Pros: Asymmetrical 12 x 9 ft hex cut, per the listing; PU 3000 ripstop nylon; 6 tie-down loops and 6 grommet points; 1.8 lb with six 3 m guylines, tensioners and 4 stakes
   - Cons: No seam-taping claim on the listing
4. **Gold Armour Rainfly Tarp, 12 x 10 ft** (details: https://wildprooflab.com/camp-shelter/hammock-rain-flys-and-underquilts#product-B07XQ5HBC2) — Buy it as a second tarp for the camp kitchen that can also cover a hammock.
   - Pros: 3,000 mm waterproof rating, per the listing; 8 tie-down points and 2 centerlines; stakes, ropes and tensioners included
   - Cons: No fabric weight, denier or tarp weight given
5. **Onewind Hammock Underquilt, Full Length, 35°F to 50°F** (details: https://wildprooflab.com/camp-shelter/hammock-rain-flys-and-underquilts#product-B085BY9HZG) — Buy it for spring and fall hangs down to the upper 30s, with a warm layer as backup.
   - Pros: Sorona bio-based synthetic insulation, per the listing; 1.1 oz 20D recycled nylon shell; adjustable cord ends and center cinch; Carabiners at both ends; double-sided compression bag
   - Cons: Temperature range is onewind's claim; no test or standard named
6. **Wise Owl Outfitters Hammock Underquilt** (details: https://wildprooflab.com/camp-shelter/hammock-rain-flys-and-underquilts#product-B08GDKDQHG) — Buy it if your nights stay above 40°F and you want one quilt for two hammock sizes.
   - Pros: 20D ripstop nylon with a water-resistant coating, per the listing; 1.77 lb; fits single and double hammocks with adjustable tighteners
   - Cons: "40 degree rated" with no test, range or dimensions given
7. **OneTigris Hideout Hammock Underquilt** (details: https://wildprooflab.com/camp-shelter/hammock-rain-flys-and-underquilts#product-B08936QVJD) — Buy it for summer and early fall, when a pad slides around and a quilt stays put.
   - Pros: 7.9 x 4 ft, 700 g polyester fill, 1.7 lb, per the listing; Elastic straps and bungee loops at both ends
   - Cons: Rated by OneTigris for 41°F to 68°F: a summer quilt, not a winter one

A hammock needs two things a tent does not: a tarp pitched on its own ridgeline, and insulation that hangs underneath, because a sleeping bag crushed flat under your weight does little. Both are sold on numbers that are hard to compare, so this guide sets the tarps side by side on size, coating and tie-outs, and the underquilts on what each maker actually claims.

**How we chose:** we did not test these tarps or quilts; we read the makers' listings and spec sheets and kept only products sold by the brand's own Amazon store and in stock on September 29, 2026.

## Four hammock tarps side by side

| Tarp | Size | Fabric and coating (per listing) | Seams | Tie-outs | Weight | Sold by | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [onewind with doors](https://wildprooflab.com/camp-shelter/hammock-rain-flys-and-underquilts#product-B087BL2S4Y) | 12 x 10 ft | 20D silnylon, sil/PU 4,000 mm | Not stated | 11 + 4 pull-outs | 1.8 lb | onewind | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Wise Owl Rain Fly](https://wildprooflab.com/camp-shelter/hammock-rain-flys-and-underquilts#product-B07ZPH8Q1D) | 11 x 9 ft | Ripstop nylon, PU 3,000 mm | Taped | Not stated; 6 guylines | 18.9 oz | Wise Owl Outfitters | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Pro Venture Hex](https://wildprooflab.com/camp-shelter/hammock-rain-flys-and-underquilts#product-B0752XXW1L) | 12 x 9 ft hex | Ripstop nylon, PU 3000 | Not stated | 6 loops + 6 grommets | 1.8 lb with kit | Pro Venture | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Gold Armour](https://wildprooflab.com/camp-shelter/hammock-rain-flys-and-underquilts#product-B07XQ5HBC2) | 12 x 10 ft | Not stated; 3,000 mm | Not stated | 8 + 2 centerlines | Not stated | Gold Armour | see the current Amazon price on the page |

For comparison, ENO's [ProFly](https://eaglesnestoutfittersinc.com/products/profly-rain-tarp) is 10 ft 6 in by 6 ft 4 in, 70D ripstop nylon with a 1,000 mm PU coating, double-stitched and taped seams, a 6-point anchor system and 22 oz, per ENO. On Amazon it is sold by a third-party seller, so buy it from ENO.

## Size: cover the hammock, then the ends

A tarp's job is to reach past both ends of the hammock and low enough on the sides that rain blowing in does not land on you. Measure your hammock hung, not flat, then compare it to the tarp's ridgeline.

The ProFly's 10 ft 6 in ridgeline is sized for ENO's own hammocks. The 12 ft tarps here give more overhang for a longer hammock or a bigger storm, and a 10 ft width lets you pitch the sides lower. The Pro Venture's hex cut trims the corners, which saves weight and leaves less fabric to catch wind.

The onewind tarp adds doors: panels at each end that fold shut. On a cold night with wind-driven rain, that closes the one opening a plain rectangle leaves.

## Coatings and hydrostatic head

The coatings here are PU (polyurethane) on nylon, or the silicone/PU treatment onewind describes on its silnylon. None of the listings names a test method for its millimeter figure. Our [camping tarp guide](https://wildprooflab.com/camp-shelter/camping-tarps-for-rain-and-sun) explains hydrostatic head and why figures from different tests do not line up.

Read the numbers as a rough order, not a ranking. A 1,000 mm tarp with taped seams, like the ProFly, may stay drier along the ridgeline than a 4,000 mm tarp whose seams are not sealed. Only Wise Owl and ENO say their seams are taped.

None of these hammock tarps uses silpoly or Dyneema composite fabric (DCF); the tarp guide compares those fabrics with silnylon and PU nylon.


## Tie-outs are how you pitch it

Tie-outs decide what you can do with the tarp. A ridgeline plus four corners gives an A-frame. Side pull-outs let you lift the middle of each side for headroom or pull it out against wind. More points means more pitches.

The onewind tarp lists 11 tie-outs and 4 pull-outs. Pro Venture lists 6 tie-down loops and 6 grommets. Gold Armour lists 8 tie-downs and 2 centerlines. Wise Owl ships six 10 ft guylines but does not say how many points it has. For guylines and stakes that hold in wind, see our [stakes and guylines guide](https://wildprooflab.com/camp-shelter/tent-stakes-and-guylines-for-wind).

## Underquilt temperature ratings have no standard

Sleeping bags are rated to ISO 23537, which gives Comfort and Limit temperatures from a tested mannequin; our [sleeping bag ratings guide](https://wildprooflab.com/cold-weather/sleeping-bag-temperature-ratings) explains the test. We found no underquilt on this page, from any maker, that cites ISO 23537 or any other standard.

So every figure below is the maker's claim. ENO lists its [Vulcan UnderQuilt](https://eaglesnestoutfittersinc.com/products/vulcan-underquilt) as "Temperature Range: 30°- 50° F" with 180 g of PrimaLoft Gold and Black. Onewind's listing claims 35°F to 50°F. Wise Owl says "40 degree rated." OneTigris says 41°F to 68°F.

None says whether its number is a comfort or a survival figure, or what the sleeper wears. Treat each as the top of its useful range, not the bottom, and carry a warm layer the first cold night you try one.

## Four underquilts on what they claim

| Underquilt | Claimed range (per maker) | Insulation | Size | Weight | Sold by | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| [Onewind Full Length](https://wildprooflab.com/camp-shelter/hammock-rain-flys-and-underquilts#product-B085BY9HZG) | 35°F to 50°F | Sorona synthetic | Full length | Not stated | onewind | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [Wise Owl Underquilt](https://wildprooflab.com/camp-shelter/hammock-rain-flys-and-underquilts#product-B08GDKDQHG) | "40 degree rated" | Poly-fill | Not stated | 1.77 lb | Wise Owl Outfitters | see the current Amazon price on the page |
| [OneTigris Hideout](https://wildprooflab.com/camp-shelter/hammock-rain-flys-and-underquilts#product-B08936QVJD) | 41°F to 68°F | 700 g polyester | 7.9 x 4 ft | 1.7 lb | OneTigris | see the current Amazon price on the page |

ENO's Vulcan (30°F to 50°F, 6 ft 6 in by 4 ft 5 in, 28 oz) and [Ember](https://eaglesnestoutfittersinc.com/products/ember-underquilt) (40°F to 60°F, 6 ft 10 in by 4 ft, 27 oz), both per ENO, are worth a look from ENO's own store; the Ember we found on Amazon was sold by a third-party seller.


## Which tarp and which quilt

Buy the **onewind tarp with doors** if you hang through spring and fall storms. It is the only tarp here with closable ends and the most tie-points, per the listing. Seal the seams yourself if the listing's silence on tape worries you; our [seam sealer guide](https://wildprooflab.com/gear-care/tent-seam-sealer-and-tent-waterproofing) covers silnylon.

Buy the **Wise Owl rain fly** for three-season trips where taped seams and a light rectangle are enough. Buy the **Pro Venture hex** if you want longer coverage with less fabric in the wind. Buy the **Gold Armour** as a camp-kitchen tarp that can double as a fly.

For the quilt, buy the **Onewind full-length** for nights into the upper 30s, the **Wise Owl** for nights that stay above 40°F, and the **OneTigris** for summer.

Related: [camping tarps for rain and sun](https://wildprooflab.com/camp-shelter/camping-tarps-for-rain-and-sun), [sleeping pad R-values](https://wildprooflab.com/cold-weather/sleeping-pad-r-value-guide).

## Frequently Asked Questions

### Can I use a sleeping pad instead of an underquilt?

Yes, and a pad's ASTM F3340 R-value is a tested number, which no underquilt has. Our [R-value guide](https://wildprooflab.com/cold-weather/sleeping-pad-r-value-guide) explains it. OneTigris's listing suggests pairing its underquilt with a sleeping bag for colder hangs.

### Does an underquilt need its own cover in rain?

Not if the tarp is big enough. Onewind also sells a water-resistant underquilt protector, per its listing, for hangs where the quilt might catch spray.

### Why do ENO tarps and quilts get no product card here?

The ProFly and Ember listings we found on Amazon were sold by a third-party seller rather than ENO or Amazon.com, so we point you to ENO's own store instead.

## Sources

- eaglesnestoutfittersinc.com: [ProFly](https://eaglesnestoutfittersinc.com/products/profly-rain-tarp)
- eaglesnestoutfittersinc.com: [Vulcan UnderQuilt](https://eaglesnestoutfittersinc.com/products/vulcan-underquilt)
- eaglesnestoutfittersinc.com: [Ember](https://eaglesnestoutfittersinc.com/products/ember-underquilt)

---
Last updated: 2026-09-29
Canonical URL: https://wildprooflab.com/camp-shelter/hammock-rain-flys-and-underquilts
How to cite: "Hammock Rain Flys and Underquilts (2026): Tarp Sizes, Tie-Outs and Temperature Claims Without a Standard", WildProofLab, https://wildprooflab.com/camp-shelter/hammock-rain-flys-and-underquilts (checked 2026-09-29).
Disclosure: as an Amazon Associate WildProofLab earns from qualifying purchases. Safety information summarizes public guidance and is not medical advice.