Best Insect Repellent for Kids (2026): Ages and Actives
Kids' insect repellent by the CDC and AAP rules: nothing under 2 months, no OLE or PMD under 3, lotions over aerosols, and four picaridin picks for families.
Independently chosen. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases: if you buy through our links, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How we research
Quick answer
Buy Sawyer's 20% picaridin lotion: a lotion lets you rub repellent onto a child's face from your own hands, as the CDC advises, and Sawyer rates it for up to 12 hours against mosquitoes and ticks. For a baby from 6 months, OFF!'s Adults & Kids picaridin lotion is labeled for that age.
Our picks
- Long days outside with kidsSawyer Premium Insect Repellent, 20% Picaridin Lotion, 4 ozFrom the listing · not tested
- A bigger bottle for a familyBoogie Insect Repellent Lotion, 20% Picaridin, 6 fl ozFrom the listing · not tested
- Babies from 6 monthsOFF! Adults & Kids Insect & Mosquito Repellent Lotion, 3.8 ozFrom the listing · not tested
Children need the same EPA-registered repellents adults use, applied by an adult and matched to the child's age. Parents heading to a campground, a ballfield at dusk or a tick-heavy trail have three decisions: which active ingredient the child's age allows, which form an adult can put on without it reaching eyes and mouth, and how many hours the day needs.
How we chose: we did not test these repellents; we read the CDC's and the American Academy of Pediatrics' rules for children, checked each listing's active ingredient and age statement, and kept only lotions and wipes sold by Amazon.com or the brand's own store and in stock on September 29, 2026.
The age rules
The CDC's mosquito bite prevention fact sheet sets two hard limits:
- Under 2 months: "Do not use insect repellent on babies younger than 2 months old." Dress the baby in clothing that covers arms and legs, and cover the stroller or carrier with mosquito netting.
- Under 3 years: "Do not use products containing oil of lemon eucalyptus (OLE) or para-menthane-diol (PMD) on children younger than 3 years old."
Past those two lines, follow the bottle. Labels set their own minimum ages: OFF!'s Adults & Kids lotion says 6 months and up, and OFF!'s aerosol version says 1 year and up. A label's age is part of how the product was registered, so it is not a suggestion.
DEET, picaridin or IR3535 for a child?
All three are on the CDC's list of six actives, and the CDC does not rank them for children. The EPA says DEET is approved for use on children with no age restriction and no limit on percentage, and that it repels mosquitoes for two to twelve hours depending on its percentage.
The American Academy of Pediatrics puts the DEET numbers in plainer terms on its HealthyChildren.org repellent page: 10% DEET protects for about 2 hours, 30% for about 5, and "anything over 50% DEET does not provide longer protection." It suggests the lowest concentration that covers the time outside. The same page says 20% picaridin can protect for 8 to 12 hours.
We picked picaridin lotions for reasons you can check on the labels: they are odorless, Sawyer says its formula won't damage plastics such as sunglasses and pack buckles, and 20% picaridin covers a full day out by the AAP's 8-to-12-hour figure. A DEET lotion is a fine choice too; our DEET vs picaridin guide covers Sawyer's controlled-release DEET lotion.
Four family repellents side by side
| Repellent | Active | Form | Protection, per the listing | Youngest age on the listing | Sold by | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sawyer Picaridin Lotion | 20% picaridin | Lotion, 4 oz | Up to 12 h mosquitoes and ticks | Not stated | Amazon.com | $10.95 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC)Check price |
| Boogie Insect Repellent Lotion | 20% picaridin | Lotion, 6 oz | Up to 14 h mosquitoes and ticks | Not stated | Eleeo Brands (Boogie) | $11.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC)Check price |
| OFF! Adults & Kids Lotion | Picaridin, % not listed | Lotion, 3.8 oz | Not stated | 6 months | Amazon.com | $6.86 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC)Check price |
| Avon Bug Guard Plus Towelettes | 10% picaridin | Wipes, 8 | Not stated | Not stated | Avon USA | $19.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC)Check price |
Prices are Amazon's, as of the time shown, and subject to change. Details
Where a listing gives no age or no hours, check the printed label or search the EPA's repellent finder, which lists registered products by active ingredient and protection time.
Sawyer's picaridin FAQ says lotions usually last longer than sprays because you control how much goes on, and gives half an ounce as the amount for one application. It gives no minimum age, pointing instead to Canadian travel-medicine advice that treats picaridin as the first choice for travelers from six months to 12 years.
How to put it on a child
The CDC's rules for children come down to who applies it and where:
- An adult applies it. "Adults: spray insect repellent onto your hands and then apply to a child's face," says the CDC fact sheet.
- Not on the hands. The CDC says not to apply repellent to a child's hands, eyes, mouth, cuts or irritated skin. The AAP explains why: children put their hands in their mouths and eyes.
- Exposed skin only. The AAP says to put repellent on exposed skin and the outside of clothing, never under clothing, and to use just enough to cover. More does not work better.
- Wash it off. Back indoors, wash the child's skin with soap and water and wash their clothes before they wear them again, per the AAP.
The AAP also says to choose "sticks, lotions or unpressurized sprays" for children and to avoid pressurized sprays they might inhale or get in their eyes. That is why every pick here is a lotion or a wipe.
Two products the AAP says to skip
Sunscreen-repellent combinations. The AAP says not to use them on children: sunscreen needs reapplying every 2 hours and after swimming or sweating, and reapplying a combination "may expose your child to too much insect repellent." Use a separate sunscreen first, then repellent, which is the order the CDC gives.
Wristbands, stickers and ultrasonic devices. The AAP lists wristbands soaked in repellent and ultrasonic devices among products "not proven to be effective against mosquitoes." Plant-oil lotions made with citronella or peppermint are not on the CDC's list either.
Clothing does half the work
The CDC's first advice for babies is clothing that covers arms and legs, and the same logic helps older children: less bare skin means less repellent on it. For tick country, permethrin-treated clothing adds a layer that never touches skin. The CDC says not to put permethrin on skin, and our permethrin clothing guide covers how to treat a child's socks and pants.
For a sleeping baby at a campsite, a net over the carrier or play yard does what no repellent may. Our guide to mosquito nets for cots, hammocks and camp beds covers mesh sizes.
Which one we would buy
Buy the Sawyer 20% picaridin lotion for most families: odorless, long-lasting, and easy to rub onto a face from your palms.
Buy Boogie's 20% picaridin lotion if you want more lotion per bottle for several children.
Buy OFF! Adults & Kids lotion if your youngest is between 6 months and a year, because its label names that age.
Buy Avon's picaridin towelettes for the car or diaper bag.
Related: tick removal tools for the check after the walk, and head nets for black-fly country.
Our picks, in order
Ranked in the order we recommend them, from listings, certifications and standards. Where a price appears it is Amazon's, with the time it was read.
Long days outside with kids
Sawyer Premium Insect Repellent, 20% Picaridin Lotion, 4 oz
From the listing · not testedBuy it if you want one long-lasting lotion for the whole family, including the adults.
Pros
- + 20% picaridin; up to 12 hours against mosquitoes and ticks and up to 8 hours against flies, gnats and chiggers, per the listing
- + Fragrance free, odorless and non-greasy; won't damage plastics or synthetic coatings, per the listing
- + A lotion, so you control how much goes on a small face
Cons
- - Neither the listing nor Sawyer gives a minimum age; Sawyer's help page points to Canadian travel-medicine advice that picaridin suits children from six months
A bigger bottle for a family
Boogie Insect Repellent Lotion, 20% Picaridin, 6 fl oz
From the listing · not testedBuy it if two or three children go through repellent fast and you want the most lotion per bottle.
Pros
- + 20% picaridin; up to 14 hours against mosquitoes and ticks and up to 8 hours against flies, gnats, chiggers and no-see-ums, per the listing
- + Fragrance free and odorless, per the listing
- + 6 fl oz, the largest bottle here
Cons
- - The listing gives no minimum age
- - The listing says it can go on the face; the CDC still says to put it on your hands first and keep it out of eyes and mouth
Babies from 6 months
OFF! Adults & Kids Insect & Mosquito Repellent Lotion, 3.8 oz
From the listing · not testedBuy it if the youngest user is between 6 months and a year and you want a label that names that age.
Pros
- + Picaridin lotion labeled for children 6 months and older, per the listing
- + Unscented and not greasy or sticky, per the listing
Cons
- - The listing gives neither the picaridin percentage nor an hour figure; read the label on the bottle
- - Most of the listing talks about mosquitoes and only one line mentions ticks; check the label if ticks are the worry
Wiping faces and necks
Avon Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus Picaridin Towelettes, 8 Count
From the listing · not testedBuy it for the diaper bag or the car, where a lotion bottle is one more thing to carry.
Pros
- + Each towelette carries 10% picaridin and repels mosquitoes, ticks and gnats, per the listing
- + Resealable pouch that fits a pocket or a day pack
- + No spray to drift into a child's eyes
Cons
- - Eight towelettes do not go far; the listing gives no hour figure and no minimum age
Frequently Asked Questions
What can I use on a baby under 2 months?
No repellent at all, per the CDC. Cover the stroller, carrier or crib with mosquito netting and dress the baby in clothes that cover the arms and legs.
Is it safe to use DEET on a toddler?
The EPA says DEET is approved for children with no age restriction and no limit on percentage. The AAP says to apply it sparingly on children under 2 and to weigh the risk of insect-borne illness against the risk of absorbing chemicals.
Can my 8-year-old put repellent on by themselves?
The AAP says to supervise older children when they use repellent, and every DEET label carries the line "Do not allow young children to apply this product," per the EPA. Keep the bottle out of young children's reach.
What if my child gets a rash from repellent?
Stop using it and wash the skin with soap and water, then call the pediatrician or Poison Help at 1-800-222-1222, says the AAP. Take the container with you if you go to the doctor.
Proof
Sources
Everything this guide relies on, as linked in the text. Last checked September 29, 2026.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Mosquito bite prevention fact sheet
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency: EPA
- healthychildren.org: HealthyChildren.org repellent page
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency: Find repellent right you
- Sawyer Products: Picaridin repellents
Amazon prices and availability change often; cards with a live Amazon price show when it was last checked. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.



