Skip to content
Camp Shelter & Fire7 min read6 products compared

Best Screen Houses and Screen Tents for Camping (2026)

Pop-up screen houses from Clam, Gazelle, Coleman, CORE and Alvantor compared on mesh, size, weight and setup, with the wind limits each maker publishes.

By the WildProofLab Editorial TeamHow we research

Independently chosen. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases: if you buy through our links, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How we research

Quick answer

Buy the Clam Quick-Set Escape: a 6-sided pop-up with no-see-um mesh, taped seams and an 11.5 ft footprint, which Clam rates for light rain and light wind. For a lighter shelter that fits over a picnic table, the Coleman Skyshade 10x10 weighs 13.4 lb.

Our picks

  1. No-see-ums and a family tableClam Quick-Set Escape Screen Tent, 11.5 ftFrom the listing · not tested
    $299.99 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC (details)View on Amazon →Why this one
  2. Eight people and a tableGazelle G6 6-Sided Portable GazeboFrom the listing · not tested
    $309.46 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC (details)View on Amazon →Why this one
  3. Over a campground picnic tableColeman Skyshade Screened Shelter, 10 x 10 ftFrom the listing · not tested
    $103.99 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC (details)View on Amazon →Why this one
Inside a yellow tent, a lantern hangs from the crossed poles, with green trees and a red roof seen through the mesh panels

A screen house is a floorless mesh room: a place to cook, eat and sit at a campsite when mosquitoes, black flies or no-see-ums make the picnic table unusable. The choices are the pop-up hub shelters (Clam, Gazelle, CORE, Alvantor), which open in about a minute, and pole-and-sleeve or canopy-style rooms (Coleman, Amazon Basics), which are lighter or bigger for the money.

How we chose: we did not test these screen houses; we compared the makers' specs and listings, and kept only shelters sold by Amazon.com or the brand's own store and in stock when we checked on September 29, 2026.

Six screen houses side by side

Screen house Mesh (per maker) Size and height Weight Roof rating Sold by Amazon price
Clam Escape No-see-um 11.5 x 11.5 ft, 90 in peak 37 lb Taped seams, no mm figure Clam Outdoors $299.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC)
Gazelle G6 TriTech single-filament 124 x 124 in, 86 in peak 34 lb 2,000 mm Amazon.com $309.46 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC)
Coleman Skyshade 10x10 Not specified 10 x 10 ft, 7 ft 2 in 13.4 lb UPF 50+ only Amazon.com $103.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC)
CORE 10x10 Not specified 10 x 10 ft, 84 in 27 lb UV-coated, no rain claim Core Equipment $149.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC)
Alvantor 10x10 Not specified 10 x 10 x 7 ft 15 lb Not waterproof Amazon.com $142.97 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC)
Amazon Basics 12x12 Not specified 12 x 12 ft, 92 in Not stated UPF 50+ only Amazon.com $59.15 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC)

Prices are Amazon's, as of the time shown, and subject to change. Details

Weights and peak heights come from Clam's product page, Gazelle's, CORE's and the Amazon listings.

Mesh: what gets through

No-see-ums are biting midges much smaller than mosquitoes, which is why makers sell a finer "no-see-um" mesh. For sleeping, the CDC's mosquito net guidance calls for a net with 156 holes per square inch, and says "permethrin-treated mosquito nets provide more protection than untreated nets."

No screen house here publishes a hole count. Clam names its mesh "no-see-um," and Gazelle says TriTech's single-filament mesh keeps out "even the smallest bugs." The others just say mesh. If biting midges are the problem where you camp, buy a shelter that names no-see-um mesh.

A child sitting on the grass under sheer blue netting strung up in a sunny backyard
Netting keeps the breeze and the view; the hole size decides which bugs stay out.

The gap at the ground matters as much as the mesh. A screen house has no floor, so bugs walk in under a loose hem. Clam adds "an extra-wide skirt" for that; on the others, stake the hem tight or weigh it down with gear.

Wind: these are fair-weather rooms

A screen house has a solid roof and mesh walls, so wind goes through the walls and lifts the roof. Clam rates the Escape for "light rain and light wind," and says the screen "is NOT meant to deter rain." Alvantor's listing is the only one with a number: it does not recommend using its screen room once "the wind force reaches 24-30.8 mile/hour," and it says to take it down in extreme weather.

Gazelle, Coleman, CORE and Amazon Basics publish no wind figure. Treat them the same way: stake every leg, run every guyline, and take the shelter down before a storm rather than during one.

Solid wind panels change the picture. Clam sells a 3-pack of wind panels that attach with Velcro and D-rings, and Gazelle makes the same kind of accessory. A panel blocks a cold breeze or low sun, but like a canopy sidewall it adds sail. Put it on the windward side only; our canopy sidewall guide covers why.

Close-up of blue mesh netting stretched on a frame, tied with a twisted cord to a wooden post
Mesh walls let wind through, so the roof takes the load; stake the legs and run every guyline.

Which screen house for which camp

Buy the Clam Escape if no-see-ums are the problem. It is the one that names no-see-um mesh and adds a wide skirt, and it sets up in about a minute. At 37 lb it is a car-camping shelter.

The Gazelle G6 is the big-group choice: room for eight and a table, a 2,000 mm-rated roof, and heavy-duty YKK zippers. It weighs 34 lb, per Gazelle.

The Coleman Skyshade is the light one, 13.4 lb, and Coleman says it fits over a picnic table. It uses poles and sleeves rather than a hub.

The CORE instant screen house is steel-framed and quick to set up; the Alvantor is the lightest pop-up at 15 lb but has a roof its maker says is not rainproof. The Amazon Basics 12x12 gives the most floor area, with no weight or wind guidance on the listing.

How big, and how many people

The makers size these rooms by headcount and a table. Clam says the Escape fits "up to 6 people plus chairs or a picnic table" in 11.5 by 11.5 feet. Gazelle rates the G6 for eight people and a table, and the smaller G5 for four. Alvantor says its 10 by 10 room fits four to six adults. Coleman says the Skyshade fits over a picnic table.

A picnic table and its benches fill much of a 10 by 10 room, leaving little space to walk around it. If the room is your kitchen, go bigger.

Height matters for standing: CORE gives 84 inches at the center, Clam 90 inches at the peak with 72-inch walls, and Amazon Basics 92 inches.

Sheer white netting draped over a simple frame in a grassy field, backlit by a low sun
Mesh with no floor: the bottom edge is where bugs get in, so stake or weigh it down.

Setting it up at a campsite

  1. Clear the ground of sticks and cones so the skirt or hem lies flat.
  2. Pop the hub or raise the frame, then stake each corner.
  3. Run every guyline that comes with it; Alvantor ships 12, plus six sandbags.
  4. Seal the bottom edge, staking the skirt or weighing it down with gear.
  5. Keep the doors zipped. A screen room full of mosquitoes is worse than none.

Take it down dry if you can. If it has to go in the bag wet, set it up again at home to dry before storing it.

Keep the bites down inside, too

A screen house keeps most bugs off while you sit; it does nothing on the walk to the car or the outhouse. The CDC's bite-prevention page starts with EPA-registered repellents (DEET, picaridin, IR3535, oil of lemon eucalyptus, PMD or 2-undecanone) and says not to use permethrin directly on skin. Our DEET vs picaridin guide compares them, and our head net guide covers mesh you wear.

Permethrin is for fabric, never skin. Sawyer's permethrin help page says its spray can go on tents and other fabrics, and that it "should not be applied near cats" until fully dry. Our permethrin guide covers how long it lasts. A Thermacell repeller is another option for the open side of camp.

Related: camping tarps to pitch over a screen house in steady rain, and stakes and guylines to hold it down.

Our picks, in order

Ranked in the order we recommend them, from listings, certifications and standards. Where a price appears it is Amazon's, with the time it was read.

1

No-see-ums and a family table

Clam Quick-Set Escape Screen Tent, 11.5 ft

From the listing · not tested

Buy it if no-see-ums are the problem and you drive to camp.

Pros

  • + No-see-um mesh and an extra-wide skirt, per the listing
  • + 210D poly-oxford with taped seams; 11.5 x 11.5 ft for up to six people
  • + Stakes, tie-down ropes, I-bolts and a carry bag included

Cons

  • - 37 lb, per Clam; rated for light rain and light wind
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$299.99 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC (details)
2

Eight people and a table

Gazelle G6 6-Sided Portable Gazebo

From the listing · not tested

Buy it for a big group camp where the screen room is the kitchen.

Pros

  • + TriTech single-filament mesh that Gazelle says keeps out even the smallest bugs
  • + 210D Oxford polyester shell and roof rated 2,000 mm, UV50+; YKK zippers
  • + All-Terrain stakes and guy lines included

Cons

  • - 34 lb, per Gazelle; wind panels are extra on this version
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$309.46 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC (details)
3

Over a campground picnic table

Coleman Skyshade Screened Shelter, 10 x 10 ft

From the listing · not tested

Buy it if you want a light screen room to throw over a picnic table.

Pros

  • + Fits over a picnic table; two wide doors and two gear pockets
  • + 13.4 lb with fiberglass poles; 7 ft 2 in center height; UPF 50+

Cons

  • - Pole-and-sleeve setup, not a pop-up hub
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$103.99 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC (details)
4

Fast setup on a car camp

CORE 10 x 10 ft Instant Screen House

From the listing · not tested

Buy it if setup speed matters more than weight.

Pros

  • + Pre-attached poles that lock in 60 seconds or less, per the listing
  • + 150D polyester, UV-coated fabric; 84 in center height; front and back doors

Cons

  • - 27 lb with a steel frame, per CORE
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$149.99 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC (details)
5

Backyard and shade, not rain

Alvantor Breezy Hexagonal Screen House, 10 x 10 ft

From the listing · not tested

Buy it for a bug-free patio or picnic on dry days.

Pros

  • + Fiberglass pop-up frame at 15 lb; six mesh walls, UPF 50+ top
  • + Six sandbags, 12 guylines and 12 stakes included

Cons

  • - Alvantor says the top is not waterproof or rainproof
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$142.97 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC (details)
6

Most floor space for the money

Amazon Basics Screened Canopy Tent, 12 x 12 ft

From the listing · not tested

Buy it for a large, floorless bug room at a campsite or party.

Pros

  • + 12 x 12 ft with a 92 in center height; 4-sided zippered screen, per the listing
  • + UPF 50+ polyester top and one movable shade panel

Cons

  • - Fiberglass and metal frame; the listing gives no weight or wind guidance
View on AmazonAdd to Cart$59.15 Amazon price as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC (details)

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I cook inside a screen house?

Not with an open flame under the roof. Smokey Bear's campfire guide keeps fires 15 feet from tents; run a stove just outside the door and eat inside.

Does a screen house have a floor?

None of these does. Alvantor sells an optional floor, Gazelle an optional 6-sided footprint, and the Amazon Basics listing says plainly that no floor is included.

Can a screen house stay up in the rain?

In light rain, yes, if the roof is rated: Gazelle gives its roof 2,000 mm. Clam says the Escape's screens are "NOT meant to deter rain," and Alvantor's roof is not waterproof. Pitch a tarp over it for steady rain.

How long does setup take?

Clam and Gazelle say about 60 seconds for their hub designs, and CORE says 60 seconds or less. Coleman's Skyshade uses poles in sleeves and takes longer.

Proof

Sources

Everything this guide relies on, as linked in the text. Last checked September 29, 2026.

  1. clamoutdoors.com: Clam's product page
  2. gazelletents.com: Gazelle's
  3. coreequipment.com: CORE's
  4. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: About mosquito nets
  5. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: INDEX page
  6. Sawyer Products: Permethrin repellents
  7. Smokey Bear (USDA Forest Service and Ad Council): Campfire safety
screen housescreen tentscreen roomno-see-um meshmosquitoescampsite shelter

Amazon prices and availability change often; cards with a live Amazon price show when it was last checked. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Keep reading