Hammock Rain Flys and Underquilts (2026)
Hammock tarps compared on size, coating, seam tape and tie-outs, and underquilts on the temperature each maker claims, since no ISO test covers underquilts.
Independently chosen. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases: if you buy through our links, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How we research
Quick answer
For the fly, buy onewind's 12 x 10 ft silnylon tarp: it has doors, 11 tie-outs plus 4 pull-outs and a 4,000 mm coating, per the listing. For the underquilt, onewind's full-length quilt claims 35°F to 50°F, but none of these underquilts cites an ISO or other test standard, so add margin.
In this guide
- Storms and shoulder seasonsonewind 12 x 10 ft Ultralight Camping Hammock Tarp with DoorsFrom the listing · not tested
- Long hex coveragePro Venture Waterproof Hammock Rain Fly, 12 x 9 ft HexFrom the listing · not tested
A hammock needs two things a tent does not: a tarp pitched on its own ridgeline, and insulation that hangs underneath, because a sleeping bag crushed flat under your weight does little. Both are sold on numbers that are hard to compare, so this guide sets the tarps side by side on size, coating and tie-outs, and the underquilts on what each maker actually claims.
How we chose: we did not test these tarps or quilts; we read the makers' listings and spec sheets and kept only products sold by the brand's own Amazon store and in stock on September 29, 2026.
Four hammock tarps side by side
| Tarp | Size | Fabric and coating (per listing) | Seams | Tie-outs | Weight | Sold by | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| onewind with doors | 12 x 10 ft | 20D silnylon, sil/PU 4,000 mm | Not stated | 11 + 4 pull-outs | 1.8 lb | onewind | $92.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC)Check price |
| Wise Owl Rain Fly | 11 x 9 ft | Ripstop nylon, PU 3,000 mm | Taped | Not stated; 6 guylines | 18.9 oz | Wise Owl Outfitters | $35.91 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC)Check price |
| Pro Venture Hex | 12 x 9 ft hex | Ripstop nylon, PU 3000 | Not stated | 6 loops + 6 grommets | 1.8 lb with kit | Pro Venture | $29.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC)Check price |
| Gold Armour | 12 x 10 ft | Not stated; 3,000 mm | Not stated | 8 + 2 centerlines | Not stated | Gold Armour | $27.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC)Check price |
Prices are Amazon's, as of the time shown, and subject to change. Details
For comparison, ENO's ProFly is 10 ft 6 in by 6 ft 4 in, 70D ripstop nylon with a 1,000 mm PU coating, double-stitched and taped seams, a 6-point anchor system and 22 oz, per ENO. On Amazon it is sold by a third-party seller, so buy it from ENO.
Size: cover the hammock, then the ends
A tarp's job is to reach past both ends of the hammock and low enough on the sides that rain blowing in does not land on you. Measure your hammock hung, not flat, then compare it to the tarp's ridgeline.
The ProFly's 10 ft 6 in ridgeline is sized for ENO's own hammocks. The 12 ft tarps here give more overhang for a longer hammock or a bigger storm, and a 10 ft width lets you pitch the sides lower. The Pro Venture's hex cut trims the corners, which saves weight and leaves less fabric to catch wind.
The onewind tarp adds doors: panels at each end that fold shut. On a cold night with wind-driven rain, that closes the one opening a plain rectangle leaves.
Coatings and hydrostatic head
The coatings here are PU (polyurethane) on nylon, or the silicone/PU treatment onewind describes on its silnylon. None of the listings names a test method for its millimeter figure. Our camping tarp guide explains hydrostatic head and why figures from different tests do not line up.
Read the numbers as a rough order, not a ranking. A 1,000 mm tarp with taped seams, like the ProFly, may stay drier along the ridgeline than a 4,000 mm tarp whose seams are not sealed. Only Wise Owl and ENO say their seams are taped.
None of these hammock tarps uses silpoly or Dyneema composite fabric (DCF); the tarp guide compares those fabrics with silnylon and PU nylon.
Tie-outs are how you pitch it
Tie-outs decide what you can do with the tarp. A ridgeline plus four corners gives an A-frame. Side pull-outs let you lift the middle of each side for headroom or pull it out against wind. More points means more pitches.
The onewind tarp lists 11 tie-outs and 4 pull-outs. Pro Venture lists 6 tie-down loops and 6 grommets. Gold Armour lists 8 tie-downs and 2 centerlines. Wise Owl ships six 10 ft guylines but does not say how many points it has. For guylines and stakes that hold in wind, see our stakes and guylines guide.
Underquilt temperature ratings have no standard
Sleeping bags are rated to ISO 23537, which gives Comfort and Limit temperatures from a tested mannequin; our sleeping bag ratings guide explains the test. We found no underquilt on this page, from any maker, that cites ISO 23537 or any other standard.
So every figure below is the maker's claim. ENO lists its Vulcan UnderQuilt as "Temperature Range: 30°- 50° F" with 180 g of PrimaLoft Gold and Black. Onewind's listing claims 35°F to 50°F. Wise Owl says "40 degree rated." OneTigris says 41°F to 68°F.
None says whether its number is a comfort or a survival figure, or what the sleeper wears. Treat each as the top of its useful range, not the bottom, and carry a warm layer the first cold night you try one.
Four underquilts on what they claim
| Underquilt | Claimed range (per maker) | Insulation | Size | Weight | Sold by | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Onewind Full Length | 35°F to 50°F | Sorona synthetic | Full length | Not stated | onewind | $69.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC)Check price |
| Wise Owl Underquilt | "40 degree rated" | Poly-fill | Not stated | 1.77 lb | Wise Owl Outfitters | $60.00 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC)Check price |
| OneTigris Hideout | 41°F to 68°F | 700 g polyester | 7.9 x 4 ft | 1.7 lb | OneTigris | $38.98 (Amazon, as of Sep 29, 2026, 5:20 PM UTC)Check price |
Prices are Amazon's, as of the time shown, and subject to change. Details
ENO's Vulcan (30°F to 50°F, 6 ft 6 in by 4 ft 5 in, 28 oz) and Ember (40°F to 60°F, 6 ft 10 in by 4 ft, 27 oz), both per ENO, are worth a look from ENO's own store; the Ember we found on Amazon was sold by a third-party seller.
Which tarp and which quilt
Buy the onewind tarp with doors if you hang through spring and fall storms. It is the only tarp here with closable ends and the most tie-points, per the listing. Seal the seams yourself if the listing's silence on tape worries you; our seam sealer guide covers silnylon.
Buy the Wise Owl rain fly for three-season trips where taped seams and a light rectangle are enough. Buy the Pro Venture hex if you want longer coverage with less fabric in the wind. Buy the Gold Armour as a camp-kitchen tarp that can double as a fly.
For the quilt, buy the Onewind full-length for nights into the upper 30s, the Wise Owl for nights that stay above 40°F, and the OneTigris for summer.
Related: camping tarps for rain and sun, sleeping pad R-values.
The products in this guide
In the order this guide discusses them, from listings, certifications and standards. Where a price appears it is Amazon's, with the time it was read.
Storms and shoulder seasons
onewind 12 x 10 ft Ultralight Camping Hammock Tarp with Doors
From the listing · not testedBuy it if you hang in real rain or cold wind and want to close the ends.
Pros
- + 20D ripstop silnylon, silicone/PU coated to 4,000 mm, per the listing
- + 11 tie-outs and 4 pull-outs; overlapping doors close the ends
- + 1.8 lb tarp; stakes, reflective guylines, adjusters and carabiners included
Cons
- - The listing does not say whether the seams are taped
Taped seams on a budget
Wise Owl Outfitters Hammock Rain Fly, 11 x 9 ft
From the listing · not testedBuy it for three-season hangs where a plain rectangle is enough.
Pros
- + Ripstop nylon, PU coated to 3,000 mm, with taped seams, per the listing
- + 18.9 oz for this color, per the listing; six 10 ft guylines and aluminum stakes included
Cons
- - No doors, and the tie-out count is not stated
- - The listing calls it silnylon in one line and PU-coated nylon in another
Long hex coverage
Pro Venture Waterproof Hammock Rain Fly, 12 x 9 ft Hex
From the listing · not testedBuy it if you want a long hex cut with less fabric at the corners than a rectangle.
Pros
- + Asymmetrical 12 x 9 ft hex cut, per the listing
- + PU 3000 ripstop nylon; 6 tie-down loops and 6 grommet points
- + 1.8 lb with six 3 m guylines, tensioners and 4 stakes
Cons
- - No seam-taping claim on the listing
Camp shade and a spare fly
Gold Armour Rainfly Tarp, 12 x 10 ft
From the listing · not testedBuy it as a second tarp for the camp kitchen that can also cover a hammock.
Pros
- + 3,000 mm waterproof rating, per the listing
- + 8 tie-down points and 2 centerlines; stakes, ropes and tensioners included
Cons
- - No fabric weight, denier or tarp weight given
Full-length warmth to near freezing
Onewind Hammock Underquilt, Full Length, 35°F to 50°F
From the listing · not testedBuy it for spring and fall hangs down to the upper 30s, with a warm layer as backup.
Pros
- + Sorona bio-based synthetic insulation, per the listing
- + 1.1 oz 20D recycled nylon shell; adjustable cord ends and center cinch
- + Carabiners at both ends; double-sided compression bag
Cons
- - Temperature range is onewind's claim; no test or standard named
Three-season underquilt
Wise Owl Outfitters Hammock Underquilt
From the listing · not testedBuy it if your nights stay above 40°F and you want one quilt for two hammock sizes.
Pros
- + 20D ripstop nylon with a water-resistant coating, per the listing
- + 1.77 lb; fits single and double hammocks with adjustable tighteners
Cons
- - "40 degree rated" with no test, range or dimensions given
Mild nights and summer hangs
OneTigris Hideout Hammock Underquilt
From the listing · not testedBuy it for summer and early fall, when a pad slides around and a quilt stays put.
Pros
- + 7.9 x 4 ft, 700 g polyester fill, 1.7 lb, per the listing
- + Elastic straps and bungee loops at both ends
Cons
- - Rated by OneTigris for 41°F to 68°F: a summer quilt, not a winter one
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use a sleeping pad instead of an underquilt?
Yes, and a pad's ASTM F3340 R-value is a tested number, which no underquilt has. Our R-value guide explains it. OneTigris's listing suggests pairing its underquilt with a sleeping bag for colder hangs.
Does an underquilt need its own cover in rain?
Not if the tarp is big enough. Onewind also sells a water-resistant underquilt protector, per its listing, for hangs where the quilt might catch spray.
Why do ENO tarps and quilts get no product card here?
The ProFly and Ember listings we found on Amazon were sold by a third-party seller rather than ENO or Amazon.com, so we point you to ENO's own store instead.
Proof
Sources
Everything this guide relies on, as linked in the text. Last checked September 29, 2026.
- eaglesnestoutfittersinc.com: ProFly
- eaglesnestoutfittersinc.com: Vulcan UnderQuilt
- eaglesnestoutfittersinc.com: Ember
Amazon prices and availability change often; cards with a live Amazon price show when it was last checked. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.






